The Cambridge University Heraldic & Genealogical Society

Orders of Chivalry

Grand Masters

H.M. the Queen is the Sovereign of all nine British orders of chivalry.

The positon of Grand Master does not exist in the Order of the Garter or the Order of the Thistle. In the other orders, the position is currently occupied as follows:

The Order of St Patrick (Vacant since 1922)
The Order of the Bath H.R.H. the Prince of Wales (since 1975)
The Order of the Star of India (Vacant since 1947)
The Order of St Michael and St George      H.R.H. the Duke of Kent (since 1967)
The Order of the Indian Empire (Vacant since 1947)
The Royal Victorian Order (Vacant since 2002)
The Order of British Empire H.R.H. the Duke of Edinburgh (since 1953)

Her Majesty is also Sovereign head of the Most Venerable Order of the Hospital of Saint John of Jerusalem. Although not a national order of chivalry, this is an order of the British Crown and therefore enjoys a well-established semi-official status. It was granted a Royal Charter in 1888.